Posted by: Yvonne | April 25, 2012

Loving My Sisters Who Love Beth Moore

Is it loving to expose false teaching?

How do I do it lovingly?

How do I do it humbly?

How do I do it gracefully?

Are my methods God-honoring?

Am I only a resounding gong?

Recently, I had an email exchange with a sister-in-Christ about Beth Moore (BM).  I do not know this woman other than the fact that I ‘liked’ her blog and began receiving her updates on my Facebook news feed.  The focus of her blog is encouraging women to be comfortable in their kitchens providing yummy meals for their families.

She quoted BM saying that events that happen in our lives are ‘a God thing’ and that we are special.  I responded by saying that we are special because we are made in God’s image not because BM says we are special.  In hind-sight I realize this was not the right way to begin a conversation about BM’s false teaching.

In John’s second epistle, he begins his letter to ‘the elect lady and her children’ with such grace.  He tells her that he loves her ‘in truth’.   He loves her because there is a unity between them; the unity of the Gospel of Jesus Christ.  He recognizes that they share a common bond in Christ and that is the reason for his exhortation.  This must be my motivation when speaking to a sister or brother-in-Christ; because ‘we have known the truth which abides in us and will be with us forever’ (2 John v.2).

I am guilty of being a ‘clanging cymbal’ (1 Cor. 13) when it comes to exposing false teaching to other Christians.   Thankfully, the grace shown to me by others can be used by God to teach me; to humble me.

So why this confession?

While I am busy pointing out errors in BM’s teaching, the Lord is teaching me.

…and there are still women deceived by Beth Moore and her teaching.  

We are commanded to ‘expose the unfruitful works of darkness’ (Eph. 5:11)…but with love (1 Cor.13).


Categories