Posted by: Yvonne | April 2, 2009

Alcoholics Anonymous

Alcohol has always been around.  I have many memories of my parents having a bourbon & water bourbon-watertogether while my mother finished dinner and my father relaxed after work.  At the end of a dinner party, dessert liqueurs where offered to guests.  After a hot morning of tennis, a cold beer was often a welcomed refreshment. 

It was just a part of life; not abused, just enjoyed. 

Then life got tough.  Three rebellious, young adults challenged parental authority in every way possible.  Unhealthy, resident, in-laws strained relationships.  College tuition payments demanded the need for a second job.  Alcohol became the drug of choice. 

aaI have participated in an intervention.
I have attended Al-Anon meetings.
I have attended Adult Children of Alcoholics (ACOA) meetings.
I read all the literature, all the pamphlets; bought into the philosophy.

                      

Then God saved me; He is the Great Physician.

Seeing AA through the lens of Scripture, with the help of ministries like Martin & Deidre Bobgan”s PsychoHeresy Awareness Ministry and Dave Hunt’s The Berean Call, the Lord opened my eyes to the error that was be taught by AA and its 12-steps.

I began to recognize that AA meetings, and other affiliated groups, often met in churches.  In fact, Rick Warren had even created a  Christianized version of this 12-step program called, Celebrate Recovery, and it was being promoted in churches that were reputed to be bible-believing congregations!   Unbelievable!

Many devout Christians, sincerely hoping to help, are being deceived by these organizations!  Many struggling sinners trying to break free are being led to an idol instead of to Jesus Christ, our Savior. 

~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~

As I was visiting some new blogs tonight, I was interested to find a number of articles about AA’s founders that I wanted to share.  Considering how New Age philosophies and Eastern mysticism have infiltrated the visible church, these articles expose an interesting history of Bill W. & Dr. Bob.

Here are the links, if you are interested:

Seances, Spirits, and 12 Steps

Hard Truth about Alcoholics Anonymous

A.A. and the 12 Steps were never of Christ

HT: My Word Like Fire

~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~

“Beware lest anyone cheat you through philosophy and empty deceit, according to the tradition of men, according to the basic principles of the world, and not according to Christ.” 
Colossains 2:8

 

 

Responses

  1. […] Bloggers discuss Alcoholics Anonymous Posted on April 3, 2009 by mywordlikefire I am greatly encouraged by these bloggers and their Biblical examination of Alcoholics Anonymous. This looks like an interesting site. https://firstjohnfourfive.wordpress.com/2009/04/02/alcoholics-anonymous/ […]

  2. Thank you for sharing! The Lord used the Bobgans and Dave Hunt in my life to deliver me from the bondage of the 12-step programs. Unfortunaltely, my late husband would not receive the Truth and died of “acute ethanol toxicity” 9 years ago. Only the Lord Jesus Christ delivers. Thank God for His marvelous grace!


Categories

