Posted by: Yvonne | January 13, 2009

Heaven on Earth?

heaven-on-earth-3

Are we, as Christians, really working towards heaven on earth?

“Give me one hundred preachers who fear nothing but sin and desire nothing but God, and I care not whether they be clergymen or laymen, they alone will shake the gates of Hell and set up the kingdom of Heaven upon Earth.”  John Wesley

Jesus says, in response to Pilate’s questioning,  “My kingdom is not of this world.  If My kingdom were of this world, My servants would fight, so that I should not be delivered to the Jews; but now My kingdom is not from here.”  (John 18:36)

Dominionism is a subtle heresy.  Do ‘clergymen or laymen’ have the power to ‘shake the gates of Hell’ or is that power reserved for God?

Remember!

“…our citizenship is in heaven, from which we also eagerly wait for the Savior, the Lord Jesus Christ…” 
(Phil. 3:20)

 

 

Categories

